A very simple and easy thing to do when the book you’re writing is clear in your mind. OK, I will try my hand at it. It’s funny because this is the very thing I stumble over every time someone asks me about my book. Here it goes:

My book is titled Temperature: Dead and Rising set in the Urban Fantasy genre. Sally has died and come back to life without understanding why. Fighting for her un-life is made difficult by the church, and her own kind, looking to end it as she struggles with the idea of living forever and controling the special power given only to her.

This is longer than the fifty words described in her blog, but I am sure some more thought and it can be knocked down to that number. I thought what she had to say is important to any author out there trying to sell their book via self marketing.

Writer's Conference Prep: The Elevator Pitch An elevator pitch is a tool that every writer should have at a writer’s conference. An elevator pitch is a thirty second speech you have memorized that summarizes you book in case you get in an elevator with your dream agent of publisher. That agent asks what your book is about. Unless you’ve thought about it ahead of time and have memorized your elevator pitch, you may end up saying something like, “Well it’s a kind of a like a story about, well … Read More

via Word Sharpeners

